And the 2018 Sports Focus ‘Administrator of the Year’ is… Naomi Cartwright from the Kyabram Parkland Golf Club



Congratulations to Naomi Cartwright of the Kyabram Parkland Golf Club who was announced the 2018 Sports Focus ‘Administrator of the Year’. Naomi was presented with the award on Tuesday 20th November  at a Special Presentation Evening hosted by Sports Focus at The Capital in Bendigo.

After being involved with the Kyabram Parkland Golf Club for over 30 years, Naomi Cartwright receives so much satisfaction from providing her community with various sporting opportunities. Beginning her golf playing career at a very young age, Naomi has been club champion an astounding 7 times, in addition to winning a number of district and state titles. 

She has been Club Handicapper for many years, runs the Social Committee and is part of both the Strategic Planning Committee and Match Committee. Naomi is the current Chairperson of the Victorian Par 3 Committee, Chairperson of the Kyabram Parkland Junior Committee and Coordinator for both the Goulburn Valley Ladies Juniors and the Junior Development Squad.

A particular passion of Naomi’s has been her instrumental role in running numerous school based and Junior programs, culminating with the Kyabram MyGOLF program being recognised in the top 5 MyGOLF programs in Australia.

Naomi coaches and mentors players of all ages, from junior golfers to the more senior aged participants of the club. With her additional volunteer involvement in the sports of Lawn Bowls, Tennis, Netball and Cricket in Kyabram, Naomi was recognised in 2016 with the honour of being awarded the Australia Day Sports Person of the Year for both Kyabram and the Shire of Campaspe. This then led to the awarding of the Kyabram & District Sports Star Award for Best Contribution to local sport. 

5 other worthy finalists were also presented on the night:

  • James O’Bryen for his contributions to the Axe Creek Cricket Club (City of Greater Bendigo)
  • Simon Meadows for his contributions to the Kyneton District Tennis Club (Macedon Ranges Shire)
  • Ken Maddern for his contributions to the Castlemaine District Netball Association (Mount Alexander Shire)
  • Heather Carr for her contributions to the Maryborough Lawn Tennis Club (Central Goldfields Shire)
  • Sharyn Lockhart for her contributions to the Wedderburn Redbacks (Loddon Shire)

The Sports Focus ‘Administrator of the Year’ award recognises the valuable contribution made by volunteer sports administrators throughout the Loddon Campaspe region.

To read more about our finalists, please click here…

Please follow and like us: