Board of Management

Sports Focus is an incorporated not for profit association that is governed by a Board of Management.

Members of the Board are elected by the organisation’s members due to either the skills they possess that are relevant and will enhance the operations of Sports Focus or the career position they hold and the influence they can yield, to achieve the objectives set for Sports Focus.

In either case, the Sports Focus Board of Management consists of dedicated community-minded people who want to improve the health and wellbeing of ALL through their participation in sport



Board Chair – Matthew Mann

As Principal of a local primary school, Matt brings to the Sports Focus Board strong leadership and a wealth of knowledge in the area of governance. Matthew is also a highly credentialed coach in the sport of Kayaking, having been a long standing member of the Bendigo Canoe Club. Matt has a special affinity with grassroots sport.

Deputy Chair – Martin Mark

Recreation Manager with a local shire council, Martin is a prominent and highly respected person within the Shire, having played football with a number of local teams and being heavily involved in community projects such as; RACV Energy Breakthrough and Goldfields Hunt for the Golden Shoe.


Sandra Hansen

Financial Controller at a local business with a Degree in Accounting, Sandra loves her football and cricket and is avid supporter of community sport. Sandra has extensive experience in financial management in both the private and public sector.

Amy Johnston

Recreation Officer with the City of Greater Bendigo. Amy is new to Bendigo having been previously employed as a Recreation Officer with Mount Alexander Shire Council. Amy is keen to strengthen the partnership between CoGB and Sports Focus, as well as further develop her understanding of good governance.

Carmel Pethick

As a Community Development Officer with the Loddon Shire, Carmel Pethick has significant responsibility for the support of the 92 clubs that operate in the Shire. Carmel holds a Bachelor Degree in Recreation Planning and Management and has prior experience sitting on the board of the Mallee Sports Assembly.

Kathie Teasdale

Kathie, a long-time resident of Harcourt, has enjoyed a long involvement in sport within the Mount Alexander Shire, particularly in the sports of; netball, basketball, sailing and football. Kathie’s knowledge of local sport has developed through holding a range of club roles such as; Coach, Treasurer, and Vice President, and more recently as the President of Harcourt Football Netball Club. As a result of this experience Kathie understands the value and importance of developing welcoming, safe and family-friendly sporting environments.

David Burns

David was previously our Regional Representative for Macedon Ranges Shire before resigning due to a change in employment. David brings a high level of expertise in the health promotion field, along with considerable knowledge in program/project evaluation.

Kylie Evans

Kylie joins the Sports Focus board in 2018 having experienced governance at both a club and association level in the sport of hockey. Kylie was the recipient of the Sports Focus ‘Administrator of the Year’ award in 2015 and sees this opportunity of joining the Sports Focus board as a way of further developing her understanding of good governance.